Warning this is a spiritual blog.

( Basketball background)
If you are an NBA fan, you know that the Lakers ( a team i actually dont like) are being beaten by the Mavs 0-2. (we all know its not yet over)

I just want to highlight how the Laker fan treat a particular player, Pau Gasol. Prior to him coming to the Lakers, the great Kobe Bryant couldn’t get his team a championship or even out of the first round. With him, they have been to 3 finals appearances and brought them 2 championships.

This year Gasol has been playing terrible, resulting in the ire of the Laker fans.. the booing, the heckling..is just plain brutal. Sure, he has not played well but have they forgotten what he has done before?

(Gospel insight)
Got me thinking about the world that we live in and the power of the Gospel. The world assess you according to your performance. Basically, how good or bad you are. You are actually only as good as your last game.

On the other hand, the Gospel is NOT about performance, it about Jesus! What he has done for you and what he continues to do for you! There are times I feel like im not performing ( my sin) but the beauty is that God evaluates me based on Jesus’s work not mine. All I need to do is put my trust in Him and what He did for me.

For in the gospel a righteousness from God is revealed, a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written: “The righteous will live by faith.” Romans 1:17

